Is the northernmost region of France, created by the territorial reform of French regions in 2014, from a merger of Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardy from January 2016. The Nord-Pas-de-Calais region is located in the extreme Northern area of France. Many shops in the Calais area can provide you with excellent wines from everywhere in France, although the region does not have great wines to offer, it is strategically located to enable you to benefit from the not-that-far regions of Burgundy, Champagne and Centre that boast some of the best wines in France and the world. Picardy; is located in the northern area of France, and this region can also provide you with fine wines from local producers. Picardy’s main wine is the Champagne. The communes producing Champagne are foremost Condé en Brie, Château-Thierry, Charly, Soissons and Vailly, located in the Aisne department. Officially, the appellation law in Champagne permits three grape varieties for the production of the authentic French Champagne: Arbane, Petit Meslier and ‘Pinot’ (a family that includes Noir, Meunier, Blanc, Gris and Chardonnay). Picardy produces 10% of the French Champagnewines.

  • Latitude: 49.6636° N, 2.5281° E

  • Acres: 

  • Wineries: 

  • Viticultural Areas: 

  • Red Grapes Varieties 

  • White Grapes Varieties