Western Australia

Western Australia is the largest of the eight administrative zones and territories of Australia. Covering the entire western third of the vast island continent, Western Australia spans 1,600 kilometers from east to west. Most of Western Australia's wine regions are in the far southwestern corner of the state, which has a cooler climate. On the other hand, northeastern two-thirds of Western Australia is too hot for quality viticulture. There is a considerable difference between the soils of the regions. This is most evident in the shift from the sandier, less fertile soils of the coastal areas to the mineral-rich, darker soils of the interior. One of the main characteristics of this state is that the most cultivated grapes are of Australian origin. Some varieties are Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Shiraz. However, the flagship wine of Western Australia is a blend of Sauvignon Blanc and a grassy Semillon.

  • Latitude: 25 degrees

  • Acres: 420,079 (169,999.94) Hectares

  • Viticultural Areas: 3 (Central Western Australia, Greater Perth, South West Australia)

  • Wineries 380

  • Red Grapes Varieties: Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon

  • White Grapes Varieties: Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc