Australian Wine Regions

Australia is one of the world's largest wine exporters, with approximately 800 million of the 1.2 to 1.3 billion liters produced annually exported. The wine industry is among the largest contributors to the Australian economy, not only through wine production, but also because of the amount of employment it generates and the tourism it attracts. The most common grape varieties grown in Australia are Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Semillon, Pinot noir, Riesling and Sauvignon blanc. On the other hand, the main wine producing regions in Australia are 6: South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and Queensland.

  • Latitude: 27° 00' S /133° 00' W

  • Acres: 420,000 (169,967.97 Hectares)

  • Wineries: 2156

  • Viticultural Areas: 65


Australia Wine Regions Map